Font Size




Carmel Mountain Ranch Residential Community Association (CMR RCA) is a nonprofit mutual benefit corporation established in 1985. It will last a minimum of 50 years and will be operated under the CC&Rs provided at the time of purchase of any residential property within its boundaries.

The owners of residential property elect delegates for their district by a simple majority vote who will then serve until replaced by another majority vote. In turn, the Delegates primary responsibility is to vote for the Board of Directors who serve two year terms. After the annual elections, the Board of Directors select each of the positions on the board. The Board of Directors then appoints members for committees; the only active committee is the Master Architectural Committee (MAC). All positions filled are non-paid / volunteer.

The governing documents include:

  • CMR RCA Bylaws
  • CMR Rules & Regulations (last revised 1997)
  • CMR Design & Review Manual (last revised 1999)

All of this is setup to serve the owners and protect property values by:

  1. Providing services necessary to run and maintain the common area landscaping, fences, walls, and signs.
  2. Enforcing Rules & Regulations and from time to time update them.
  3. Enforcing Design & Review guidelines via the MAC Application process and the drive through process and from time to time update them.
  4. Follow requirements as detailed in the CC&Rs which provides for budgets, insurance, meeting minutes, audit results, etc.

Who is part of CMR RCA? 

There are currently 4996 dwellings in CMR including single family homes, condominiums, and apartments.

Districts ? home owners must follow rules and pay a single unit of dues monthly. Groups of homes developed at roughly the same time by the same developer are grouped into Districts. Each District selects one Delegate to represent them. There are 14 Districts:

  • Belle Fleur
  • The Bluffs
  • Bridgeport/Bridgeport II
  • Christopher Homes I & II
  • Fairway Village
  • J.M. Peters
  • Marseilles
  • Tapestry
  • Villaggio
  • Walden Greens
  • Walden Terrace
  • Waterfield Laurels
  • Woodcrest
  • The Summit

Sub-Associations ? home owners must follow rules and pay a single unit of dues monthly. Additionally, the Sub-Association will have its own set of Rules and Regulations. Homes within a Sub-Association must pay Sub-Association dues as well as CMR RCA dues. Each Sub-Association selects one Delegate to represent them in the CMR RCA. There are ten Sub-Associations:

  • Cambridge                     
  • Carmel Trails
  • Collage
  • Cypress Greens
  • Heritage Hill
  • iL Palio
  • Provencal
  • Royal St. George's
  • Vista Montana
  • Windham

Apartments ? Must pay one units? worth of dues for every three rental units (no fractions). Each Apartment complex can have the owner or the owner?s representative serve as the Delegate. There are four Apartment complexes:

  • Carmel Landing (Formerly Reflections)
  • Carmel Summit
  • Carmel Terrace
  • Jefferson

Who is not part of CMR RCA:

  • Businesses - are part of a business association separate from CMR RCA.
  • City Streets/Easements - they are part of the City of San Diego and its Landscape Maintenance District (LMD). Landscape input is provided via the CMR RCA management company at LMD meetings. Planning input is given to the City of San Diego via the CMR Community Council. A representative from the City 5th District attend each CMRCC meetings.
  • Golf Course - is a private country club operating under the rules of the City of San Diego. This is private property and it is considered trespassing to use any part of it without the direct consent of the country club.
  • Developer - William Lyons (acquired Presley Homes) still has areas within CMR that have not been completed or annexed over to the CMR RCA or CMR business association